Level 5 Diploma in Computing

The Level 5 Diploma in Computing is a 120 credit Ofqual regulated qualification. It provides the core knowledge, understanding and skills to support learners planning to further their studies in computing.

The course is equivalent to the second year of a Bachelor’s degree programme in computing.

Qualification Title Level 5 Diploma in Computing
Qualification number 601/4880/9
Certificate Awarding Body ATHE (Awards for Training and Higher Education)
Size 120 credits (480 Guided Learning Hours)
Structure 10 core units totaling 120 credits
Entry Requirements

Age: 19 +

The following qualifications will be considered:

  • Prior study in computing or related subjects at level 4 or above
  • Or a related level 4 qualification, for example an ATHE Level 4 Diploma in Computing
  • Other equivalent international qualifications
  • GCSE or equivalent in Maths and English

Each application will be reviewed on merit and applications which do not fall into the criteria listed above, may still be considered.

Modes of Study Classroom based learning, with classes available during weekends and evenings
Assessment Assignment for each unit
Overall Grading Type Achieved/Not Achieved
Fees For details on current fees please contact the College. Flexible payment methods are available.

Cyber Security

Learners will develop an understanding of the importance of cyber security to organisations. They will understand industry standards of cyber security and be able to recommend improvements in security to a client’s network.

Web Based Development

Learners will develop an understanding of web based development They will research different technologies that can be used to create dynamic and interactive websites and they will use this research to develop their own website. They will investigate e-marketing and SEO techniques to promote web sites and they will suggest appropriate techniques to solve a business problem. Learners will create a back end database to allow the database to interact with the website. They will critically review the web-based solution against client requirements.

Innovative Technologies in Computing

Learners will develop an understanding of innovative developments in technology and their impact on the computer industry

Software development methodologies

Learners will learn about using software development methodologies to develop an information system.

Software Engineering

Leaners will gain an understanding of the need for Software Engineering and the different methods and techniques.

Network Design

Learners will learn IT network design fundamentals and will design a network for a client in accordance with a design brief.

Database Design and Development

Learners will extend their understanding of database design and development. They will research database management systems and will design and implement a complex database

Ethical, Legal and Regulatory Issues and Professional Responsibilities in IT

Learners will develop understanding of ethical, legal, regulatory issues and professional responsibilities relating to working in IT.

Strategic Management Information Systems

Learners will develop an understanding of the importance of integrating organisational strategy with information systems and the tools and techniques that can be used to analyse strategy. They will analyse business processes and recommend improvements.

Managing a computing project

Learners will find out about different project management tools and techniques that can be used when managing a computing project. They will use tools and techniques to plan, implement and review their own computing project.

Computing Research Methods

Learners will develop an understanding of different computer based research methods. They will plan their own research and carry out a research project based on an area of interest to them within computer science.

Individuals can progress from this qualification into employment in the sector or onto the final year of a Bachelors degree in Computing at various universities. Alternatively continue onto a level 6 qualification from various awarding bodies.